Posted in NaPoWriMo...30 poems in 30 days!, Thinking out loud

Gossip

Day twenty three….http://www.napowrimo.net/

the lightness of being 2

My Mother always used to say, “if you have nothing nice to say, don’t say it!”

They just keep talking at me. I don’t want to hear a word
they’re saying. These echoes of my mind, submerge me in
a sea of voices, comments, the screeching din of gossip. On
every corner, on roads, on bilboards, on pages, on screens, a
cacophony of harsh tones, dialogues of malice. It disturbs the
equilibrium of kindness. Revealing secrets to the wind, even
the trees would be ashamed of. Loose tongued utterances, which
cannot be recalled, or gathered, or even undone. Distorted words
reverberate on sanctuary walls, hideouts, were the innocent
huddle in hushed tones. Perpetrators of hearsay speak out
in jarring malevolence, of what they think is true. The dissonant
language of gossip, suffocates the joy of everyday life.
*Because the house of a louder talker, leaks……..
* African proverb Zulu Tribe

©AllysoAlly2018

poetry month

Author:

I am an unknown introvert who desires to touch the world with a little bit of magic...

2 thoughts on “Gossip

Leave a comment