Color me in Sunlight

“Be like the sun for grace and mercy. Be like the night to cover others’ faults. Be like running water for generosity. Be like death for rage and anger. Be like the Earth for modesty. Appear as you are. Be as you appear.”
Jalaluddin Rumi

sunlightColor me in sunlight
radiant and alive.
Grow me into kindness
keep my hope revived.
Let Your fragrance melt away
all my bitterness,
that joy may stir me into
breathless eagerness.
Restore faith within me
so I may run to Your arms.
Extinguish my disquiet
and save me from life’s harm.

I will remain in Your presence
while You live in mine.
Sup at Your banquet table
in splendor I will dine.
When darkness does descend
on my sanctuary of tears,
turn it into compassion
so that praise is all I hear.
Grace flows extravagantly
into my lower form.
Surround me with Your glory
and quell each inner storm.

5 thoughts on “Color me in Sunlight

Leave a Reply

