Winter beckons

autumn 4
The mornings are quite frosty,
the nights are getting long.
An oblique sun is shining,
cold winds have joined the throng.

The leaves are falling bravely
from tall majestic trees.
Birds are chattering madly,
undaunted by crisp breeze.

I’ve rummaged through my closet
for all my warmer clothes.
I really dread mid-winter
when Antarctic wind blows.

I grew up in the tropics
where winters don’t persist.
Though I do love autumn colours
and playful morning mists.

©2017

6 thoughts on “Winter beckons

Leave a Reply

