Trance

“Soul, if you want to learn secrets,
your heart must forget about
shame and dignity.
You are God’s lover,
yet you worry
what people
are saying.”
Jalaluddin Rumi, The Essential Rumi

light 3
The night birds call
my soul from sleep.
Upon my bed
ruminations creep.
Shame disturbs
my careful rest.
Surreal twilight
my hopes bereft.

I journey from
my soul’s abode.
Dark umbra realms,
where shadows strode.
Soporific daze,
voiceless chords,
darkened trance,
somber forms.
Illusions displayed
in transient fears.
I awaken dazed,
insensate clears.

Lucid impressions
render sight.
From obscurity
into beams of light.
Dewy eyed,
luminous tears.
Dread extinguished
tenebrosity clears.
Abundant stars
replete with radiance
delighted by the moon’s
acquaintance.
Coherent thoughts
return to view.
Penetrating lightness
I do pursue!

©2017

2 thoughts on “Trance

Leave a Reply

