Entertaining Angels

“The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched. They must be felt with the heart”
Helen Keller

francis-geduiltI have a regular visitor,
her name is Francis Geduld.
She is feisty and quite humorous,
though at times I’ve seen her wilt.

She comes with garbled stories
of hardships she’s survived,
and even through adversity,
She says that God’s her guide.

I ask her how she is doing
she tells me about her kids.
Sadness shows on her countenance,
there’s a flutter of eyelids.

The simple snacks I give her
cause her to beam so bright.
She puffs half smoked cigarettes,
she’s thankful and polite.

I watch her trundle down the road
when she goes home for the night,
she blows me a kiss in the distance;
I’m in sorrow of her plight.

“God is good” I hear her say,
she brims with mystical trust.
A belief that soars heavenward,
well acquainted with stardust.

I’m reminded when I see her
the preciousness of each being.
Through this life-changing encounter
I’m given a new way of seeing!

I’m entertaining an Angel,
her prayers can fill the sky.
A sweet little old lady
just waiting for wings to fly.

P.S. Her surname Geduld means patience

5 thoughts on “Entertaining Angels

Leave a Reply

