The sea

“My soul is full of longing
for the secret of the sea,
and the heart of the great ocean
sends a thrilling pulse through me.”
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

the-sea-5
Once I lived by the sea
a stormy sea.
The tide would come
up at night
high in my windows
and echo my desolation.
It would mock my sorrow
ridicule my pain.
The moodiness of the sea
enraptured me in despair.
I was submerged in its depths
delirious with longing.

Still, I live by the sea
not a temperate sea
but a tamed silence.
The storms they visit my door
but they do not enter in.
They draw back before dawn
when the seagulls beckon
chanting sweet melodies
in the sunrise.
Serenading me in wonderment.

In these days of equanimity
the ocean transposes
pervasive thoughts,
hushing me with its thunder.
Rumbling accolades,
applauding my courage.
It’s fragrant breath
imbues me with sensations
of the Divine
I’ve surrendered to its disposition,
abandoned myself
to providence.

Pleasant seascapes permeate my dreams!

©2017

3 thoughts on “The sea

Leave a Reply

