Forgiveness

“Forgiveness is the fragrance that the violet sheds on the heel that has crushed it.” Mark Twain

summer-3

Sometimes I get stuck in unforgiveness
I find myself holding on
the grudge echoes
in remembrance of my suffering
to those the undeserving
or the oblivious
so my desire is to inflict the pain
that infests me
how wrong I am!

But is it second nature to me?
maybe it’s supernatural
should I call forgiveness out
so that it may rest on me
do I dare walk in the shoes
of the one who harmed me
will it ever be forgotten?

The capacity of forgiveness
is infinite
I will embrace it
and let it’s exquisite fragrance
heal the wounds
my prison doors
will fly open
bitterness will dissolve
as my world is put to right

“As I walked out the door toward the gate that would lead to my freedom, I knew if I didn’t leave my bitterness and hatred behind, I’d still be in prison.” Nelson Mandela

Leave a Reply

