Where I live (in pictures)

“If you want to identify me, ask me not where I live, or what I like to eat, or how I comb my hair, but ask me what I am living for, in detail, ask me what I think is keeping me from living fully for the thing I want to live for.”
Thomas Merton

I could say that sometimes I live in my head
and that isn’t always pretty
so I have to catch myself and look around me
with gratitude
at the place where I live on Earthsedgefield-1

I wake everyday to the sound of birds chirping in the trees around our house.

our-house

We have a cat who is my zen master, she forever lives in the moment

kittiekat

and a Tortoise resides in our garden

I can hear the distant roar of the ocean from where we live
and the stars are really bright out in the countryside

sedgefield-2

The beach is a 12 minute walk from our house
it’s a magical place
where seagulls sweep across the sky
and fishermen cast their hooks
with dreams of a big catch

wild-oats-market

On Saturdays we go to the Farmer’s market
and eat delicious food and drink coffee with friends.
It’s a place filled with lots of enticing goodies
and the sound of live music fills the air.

sedgefield-7

I have paraglided above this spectacular piece of paradise
and we swim in the ocean all summer long

sedgefield-5

Our little village is full of interesting people
and I’m aware of poverty just down the road from us
I’ve heard of the struggle for equality
all over the world
I long for peace

sedgefield-6

My little piece of paradise sustains me
it re energises me
The call of nature is strong in me
and yet I cannot disregard
the suffering of my fellow human beings

sedgefield-4

4 thoughts on “Where I live (in pictures)

Leave a Reply

